“Welcome to our society, you will be judged on your taste in music, how you act, what you wear and how you look. Enjoy your stay…” 

I find it deeply saddening how true that statement is. Humans should be building each others confidence and happiness, but in reality you can’t walk out the door without being judged or feeling threatened by someone else because of the way you look or dress. 

My self confidence has always been low, I cannot leave the house without makeup otherwise I feel paranoid that people are looking at me or laughing… I hate feeling like that because now if someone compliments me I can’t take it because I really don’t see it within myself and then people end up thinking you’re “fishing for compliments” when in fact you’ve just got low confidence.

Society needs to change, nobody is perfect! 

We’re surrounded by magazines, films and adverts on TV brainwashing us showing us models who’ve clearly been photo shopped and telling us this is the way we should look. They think they’re doing good but in reality people (especially young girls) are now feeling unhappy with themselves because they don’t look like that when in fact everyone is beautiful no matter what you look like or what size you are! 

Being judged by weight is such a big thing in society and it’s ridiculous. It doesn’t matter what size you are, everyone is beautiful in their own way. It’s awful to hear beautiful curvy girls saying they need to diet when they really don’t. Every size is beautiful as long as your happy with yourself. You should never change your looks or the way you are to please someone else. 

There’s also the “perfect” visions of males having abs, perfect skin, amazing hair, going to the gym all the time or loving sport. This is wrong. Everybody is different and you shouldn’t expect a male to be like this just because of the “perfect” vision. You should be able to do/like anything without being judged, you be who you want to be! Also the “perfect” vision of females is to have tiny waist, big bust, big bum, clear skin or amazing teeth. This is also wrong. I hate the stereotypical visions people have created in this society it makes people feel horrible about themselves. And young girls going through puberty may feel confused about what they should look like and can encourage them to make decisions like wearing makeup when they don’t need it. I’m not saying wearing makeup is a bad thing, if it makes you feel confident then you wear it no matter what anybody says! It’s your body. In addition, it can confuse young males thinking that they’ll only get a girlfriend if they workout or have a six pack, when this isn’t correct.

You should be happy in your own skin no matter what… Society needs to change, we need to start complimenting people more and boosting confidence. Make it your priority to compliment someone everyday even if it’s something like “oh your hair looks nice today” because even though that seems small it can have a big impact on someone’s self esteem.

I hope I clearly got my message across.. I’m not the best at wording things in rants! Leave your views in the comments!

Thanks for reading! :)x